Why, when and how did you start studying English?

I started studying English when I was a 9-year-old brat and, weird as I was, begged my mom and dad to send me to an English school. So they did. Mom, dad, thanks - it was the best investment!

When I started, there was no internet, nor were there language schools in every corner. So, my parents had to find a private tutor. The 1st English school my neighboorhood had came around only 2 years later - and it still exists (the name is Just In Time)! Great times!
TESTE DE NÍVEL
Faça um teste de inglês e descubra seu nível em 10 minutos! Este teste foi desenvolvido por professores experientes. O resultado sai na hora e com gabarito. INICIAR TESTE
Van-Spirandeo escreveu:I started studying English when I was a 9-year-old brat and, weird as I was, begged my mom and dad to send me to an English school. So they did. Mom, dad, thanks - it was the best investment!

When I started, there was no internet, nor were there language schools in every corner. So, my parents had to find a private tutor. The 1st English school my neighboorhood had came around only 2 years later - and it still exists (the name is Just In Time)! Great times!
Vanessa,

If you, as a teacher, do not mind I would like to make a couple of suggestions in the form of a rewrite of your last paragraph.

"When I started there was no internet, nor were there language schools on every corner. So, my parents had to find a private tutor. The first English school in my neighborhood, appropriately named "Just in Time" , opened about two years later, and it is still in operation today! What great times those were!

If you do not mind please let me know what you think about the changes, your honest and frank opinion would be appreciated. I think that it reads more like what an American might say or write.