Regra: to be + also + not

I know we place also after the verb to be.
My brother is a musician. I am also a musician.

What about the placement of not? I generally write:
I am not supposed to arrive late. I am also not supposed to drink at work.

Are they correct? Is there any rule of thumb?

What about these:
She is not supposed to drink.
She is also not supposed to stay out late.
She isn't also supposed to stay out late.

In one sentence "also" comes before not. The same does not hold true
when "not" is contracted together with "is".

Any help would be greatly appreciated.
Thanks in advance.

TESTE DE NÍVEL
Faça um teste de inglês e descubra seu nível em 10 minutos! Este teste foi desenvolvido por professores experientes. O resultado sai na hora e com gabarito. Você ainda ganha o eBook sobre o Verbo Get em seu e-mail. INICIAR TESTE
5 respostas
Ordenar por: Data
Henry Cunha 3 18 190
Fernando

Your first two examples using "I" are perfect. And of course there is no contraction of "I am not" (that includes the "not"), as there is for "You aren't" and "He isn't," so your question is very appropriate.

I think it's mostly for the sake of clarity that we prefer "She is also not supposed to stay out late." The word "not" is one that the speaker will emphasize; and we can't do that if we shorten it into a contracted form. But one could say "She's also not...", a contraction that doesn't affect the spoken emphasis on the "not."

Another reason is the contrary logical sense:

A: This is black and white.
B: I agree it's black, but it isn't also white.

Actually contractions in English aren't always as simple as they look. When we write them, we do so thinking of and imitating the spoken language. For example, we can go either way with "You aren't" or "You're not," and which one is chosen may depend on the phrasing, the intended tone, the social circumstance, the required clarity and the meaning.