Understanding songs in English entirely!

2 16 113
Hallo people =) Sei que já existe tópico no fórum sobre o assunto mas ainda estou com dúvidas em relação a esse 'entendimento de músicas' haha

Então, Quando vcs ouvem uma música quanto mais ou menos vocês conseguem pegar da letra?

In my opinion, It's so hard to understand what the singers are saying :(

I really like to listen to songs in english, they do help me to get new vocabulary yet there's songs that I find too hard to understand, one of those is Eminem's ''Detroit vs Everybody''(It's impossible haha)

So, what do you guys think about it? Is it possible to understand all the lyrics of a song?

ENTENDENDO AS HORAS EM INGLÊS
Nesta aula, a professora Camila Oliveira ensina vários macetes para você nunca mais se confundir na hora de dizer as horas em inglês. ACESSAR AULA
2 respostas
Ordenar por: Votos
  Resposta mais votada
16 60 498
Hi there!

When I started learning English in the 80's, I loved to understand the lyrics of my favorite songs. By the way, that's how I got to know English, I enjoyed listening to rock, pop, musicals, almost everything and I thought "write the lyrics, why not?", so I did start writing lyrics, lots of them. Then I could check if that was correct, comparing what I had written to the official lyrics (that kind of stuff was available if you had the album, with lots of information, it was expensive but worth it).
Well, I guess "rap" is not the easiest style, but surely, it is an excellent source to test your listening skills.

I must say I am a terrible learner of English with that style, maybe due to the fact I do not like it so much.
I'll try to describe how I learned, maybe it'll be of some help:

I usually listened to Maddona, for instance, let's see "Like a Prayer", sort of rock/pop/Gospel...
First thing - you know the singer, the kind of song he/she sings and the name of the song, that is "you know the context";