Subject and object pronouns (position in a sentence)

Good evening, people!

Então, nos cursos de inglês que fiz sempre foi ensinado que não se pode pôr "subject pronoun" em final de sentença e hoje encontrei algo diferente em uma gramática que estou estudando:

"In informal English, most people tend to follow to be verbs with object pronouns
Like me, her, them. Many English scholars tolerate this distinction between
Formal and casual English"

Example: It could have been them.
Technically correct: It could have been they.
Example: It is just me at the door.
Technically correct: It is just I at the door.

"It could have been they" e "It's just I at the door" estão corretos? É correto usar subject pronouns em final de senteça mesmo?

Obrigada :)

Anúncio Você tem medo de falar inglês? - Se você já estudou inglês mas ainda se sente inseguro(a) saiba que o primeiro passo é se expor ao idioma. Converse grátis por 15 minutos com um professor de inglês nativo, você vai se surpreender o quanto isso pode fazer a diferença.

Começar agora!
6 respostas
  Resposta mais votada
3 24 199
Nesse caso, é gramaticalmente correto usar o "subject pronoun" no final.
Mas popularmente se usa o "object pronoun".
The traditional grammar rule states when a pronoun follows a linking verb, such as "is," the pronoun should be in the subject case. It’s also called the “nominative.” That means it is correct to say, “It is I,” and “It was he who dropped the phone in shock when Jodie answered, 'This is she,'” because "he" is the same type of pronoun as "I."
The Merriam-Webster Dictionary of English Usage says that it’s a style choice, and that “It is I” is a formal style and “It is me” is a more casual style. In fact, most people who write about language agree that unless you're answering the phone for the English department at the University of Chicago or responding to a Supreme Court judge—in other words, in a very formal situation for the English language—“That's me” is an acceptable answer