Tradução de "go on for days on end"

Li essa expressão em um texto e acredito que signifique que tradicionamente a festa de casamento polonesa dura vários dias. É isso mesmo?
EX: Polish wedding traditionally go on for days on end.
"Tradicionalmente a festa de casamento Polonesa leva dias e dias"

Estou com dúvidas em utilizar essa expressão para outros contextos. Por exemplo, eu poderia utilizar a expressão acima para dizer que terminar a graduação de Engenharia leva anos e anos? Se sim como ficaria em inglês?

Se puderem colocar outros exemplos seria muito bom.

Obrigado

Mais Votada Mais Votada

Avatar do usuário Marcelo Pias 640 1 2 14
I'm not an expert but I can give you a helping hand.

According to the TheFreeDictionary:

[days/months/weeks etc.] on end
if something happens or continues for days, months etc. on end, it continues for several days, months, or weeks without stopping

Examples:
We sometimes don't see each other for months on end, but we're still good friends.
Sometimes she sang, but sometimes she remained completely silent for days on end.

Regarding "Levar anos e anos" I would say something like:

It takes many years.
It takes a long time.
It takes quite sometime.
MENSAGEM PATROCINADA Para aprender mais sobre os Tempos Verbais baixe agora o: Guia Grátis de Tempos Verbais em Inglês. Ele contém um resumo bem estruturado para revisar os conceitos que você aprendeu na escola.

Clique aqui e saiba como baixar!
Avatar do usuário PPAULO 39205 6 32 684
For the engineering graduation I wouldn´t use such expression, unless I meant some boredness or that I was stuck up with something in the process of graduation. ''go on for days on end" rings, to me, some kind of surprise or being fed up, bored with something, or that something is taking eons to finish. Not the ''normal" it is expected to end.

So, "Engineering undergraduate education/Engineering graduation may drag for years/may take forever et cetera...