Do you prefer to learn American or British English? Why?

Regras do fórum

Practice English here, messages in Portuguese are not allowed.
Avatar do usuário Flavia.lm 3885 1 9 86
Do you prefer to learn American or British English? Why?

Examples of answer:

- I prefer to learn American English, because someday I hope to visit America, especially Disney World in Orlando, Florida.
- I like American English better, because I work in the tourist industry and most of our clients are from America.
- I prefer to learn British English, because once a year I visit my cousin who lives in London, England.

Now it is your turn!

Mais Votada Mais Votada

Avatar do usuário Sra_Tradutora 3290 6 73
As an English speaker, I'm answering the question "Do you prefer to learn Portuguese from Brazil or Portugal? Why?"

Being North American, I tend to favor the languages of the Americas rather than the languages of Europe. While I do appreciate some of the things the Old World has to offer (culture, architecture, foods, etc.), I find the American languages (English, French, Spanish and Portuguese) more straightforward and effective, which I think is important when it comes to communication.
MENSAGEM PATROCINADA Você sabe como está o seu nível de inglês? Teste agora GRÁTIS em apenas alguns minutos.

Clique aqui para iniciar o Teste Online!
Avatar do usuário Marcio_Farias 12360 1 22 206
I learned AmE because a friend of my father's[1] tipped him off on the local Binational Center (Soc. Cultural Brasil-Estados Unidos) back in the 70's. Also, most of the people I happened to talk in English to came from the US, my niece's ex-husband appearing as the last American person I had a chance of talking in English to. (He and my niece broke up a couple of years ago.)

----------------------
[1] My 94-year-old father died at 8 p.m., 17 Aug 2010.